Do you feel a draft?

March 1, 2010

Sometimes the words on this page just fall into place.  (Some might say they just fall.)  Other times I struggle to find anything relevant to say.  There are times when the germ of an idea forms and I can’t bring it to fruition.

Right now there are close to a dozen drafts, unfinished posts waiting to be finished or discarded.  In some cases the post is almost complete, but there is no conclusion, or worse, there is no reason for it to exist, it’s going nowhere.  In other cases all I have is an opening or closing statement; something which needs to be fleshed out and completed.

Watching the Olympics inspired several attempts, but no medal winners.  Walking in Chestnut ridge motivated me to say something as profound as nature itself, but in the end all I have is a puddle of ideas melting in the warmth of my hard drive.

I value my readers, so I don’t want to use this space to ramble or to rant, but I also hate letting a week go by without trying to say something significant, or at least thought provoking.  I could talk about the weather or whether or not Appolo Ohno got robbed, but you don’t need a blog for that.

So if you feel a draft coming through the gaps between my posts, it’s not that I don’t care, it’s that I don’t care to waste your time on incomplete thoughts or insignificant insights.  (That will no doubt happen, but I won’t do it on purpose.)

Thank you for your patience, thank you for putting up with me, thank you for checking back now and then; if anything worthwhile crosses my mind, I will be sure to let you in on it.

As an aside, I am about to embark on a path in a new direction and would appreciate your prayers.

3 Responses to “Do you feel a draft?”

  1. Kim said

    Thanks … I check nearly everyday to read. Are you accepting topic ideas?

  2. Sue Bell said

    Tim, I enjoy reading whatever you write! As far as praying for your new direction, you & Diane are constantly in my prayers 🙂

Leave a comment