Waiting For My Helicopter

April 25, 2013

There’s an old joke that I am sure is making its rounds again in flood –ravaged parts of our country.  I won’t bore you with the story, but the punch-line is, “I sent three boats and a helicopter, what more could you want?”  Laugh with me!  OK, chuckle then.  Don’t know the rest of the joke?  Message me and I’ll tell you, but the joke is older than I am so I’m sure you’ve heard it.

Lately, I have been feeling like I missed the helicopter…

And in the midst of a serious pout am reminded that I am not the first, nor will I be the last to feel like I missed something important.

I’m reading about young David, anointed, but not yet enthroned.  Perhaps fifteen years he spent running from a king he wouldn’t kill, living in caves, eating forbidden grain.  His best friend is the son of his biggest enemy.  I’ll bet there were days when he felt like he missed the helicopter.  Fifteen years! 

Four months, doesn’t seem quite so harsh in comparison.   

Joseph, one of the GREAT leaders in history spent years in prison; at least two, maybe as many as thirteen, FOR DOING THE RIGHT THING!   Where was his helicopter?

Lazarus died.

 

When I go beyond myself today I know that I have been lucky.  Blessings have come my way for most of my life.  I also know Christians don’t always like that word, luckSome say there is no such thing as luck.  But I am currently reading a book by pastor and worship leader Glen Peckaim called Lucky.  If a pastor and worship leader can use the word, I guess I can too, right?  Pastor Peckaim says it can be argued that the word in the New Testament, notably the Beatitudes in Matthew and Luke, most often translated “Blessed” can also be translated “Lucky.”  So for now I will stay with that word.  After all I have a pastor and a Bible translator agreeing with me.

 But I digress.  Most of my life, up until four years ago, I would have to say life usually moved in my favor.  Just look at my wife and anyone would say I was really LUCKY.  My friends and jobs and health…they didn’t point to wealth and fame, but I was more fortunate than most of the world.  Actually compared to most of the world I am still very fortunate.  Unemployed and broke, but fortunate nonetheless.   And even now, in my confusion and frustration, God has been pouring out blessings on Diane and me.

So I keep listening for the thump thump thump of the rotors.

And I remember in Whom I trust. 

You are the rock we’re standing on

You are the love we’re counting on

You are the God who never fails

You speak your Word and it remains*

 

A verse that has greatly encouraged me is 1 Chronicles 28:20 (NIV).  “David also said to Solomon his son, ‘Be strong and courageous, and do the work. Do not be afraid or discouraged, for the Lord God, my God, is with you. He will not fail you or forsake you until all the work for the service of the temple of the Lord is finished.’”

 

I know this is not “in context.”   King David was talking specifically to his son Solomon.  But I know the same God David and Solomon served is the God I serve and the character of God has been proven, over and over again.  He will not fail me or forsake me.   

 

And so I stand strong while I wait for my helicopter.

 

 

 What have you done to stand strong in the times when you had to wait for the helicopter?

 

 

*     Glen Peckiam, from the book, Lucky

 

 

If my words have encouraged or blessed you, it would bless me if you shared this post.

Leave a Reply

