Praying for your Children #6

January 20, 2013

“I pray that you will protect my child from harm and disaster. I pray that you will command your angels to guard my child in all his/her ways.” iMOM

We sometimes forget that we do have God’s protection available to us.  It is also sometimes difficult to distinguish “hurt” from “harm.”   God’s promise, from the prophet Jeremiah tells us that his plan is to help us and not to harm us.  I  BELIEVE THAT.  So, when I suffer pain and loss, does my faith waiver?  Well, maybe a little.  But then I come face-to-face with the fact that, while I may be in pain, I haven’t been harmed.  There is a difference.

When thinking about God’s protection, I would suggest that you do a study of the Bible regarding angels.  Not counting cherubim and  seraphim and heavenly hosts and mighty warriors, just counting angels there are almost 100 different references in the NIV.   They are real, and they are first and foremost for God.  They are on his side completely, and when he asks (tells) them to do something, they do it.  And he commands his angels to protect us.  And I believe that we can (should?  Must?) ask God to send his angels to protect our children.

Something else I notice: in reference after reference, when we mere humans come in contact with angels, the first thing we do is fall face down in awe and fear. Angels are formidable.  Angels are not some slightly chubby, Rubenesque  cutie-pies that play harp and sing old songs.  They sing ancient songs, such as Holy, Holy, Holy is the Lord God Almighty.  But I digress.  When angels aren’t worshiping they are obeying God’s commands, which I might add is an act of worshipObedience is an act of worship on our part too.   

Anyway, one of his commands that I find is scripture is, “ For he will command his angels concerning you to guard you in all your ways; they will lift you up so that you will not strike your foot against a stone.” Psalm 91:11,12

For he will command his angels concerning you to guard you in all your ways; they will lift you up so that you will not strike your foot against a stone.  The King of Angel Armies gives a command, and the angels obey.

Are you beginning to sense the power of the prayers being suggested by iMOM?  This is not, “Now I lay me down to sleep, I pray the Lord my soul to keep.”  As good as that prayer was for me to learn, these prayers remind us who we are in Christ, and they remind us of the power God is willing to unleash on our behalf.

Pray with power, to Power,  for power, on behalf of your children, and watch God work.

Leave a Reply

