January 17, 2013

Diane and I were blessed to live near Lake Michigan for most of our lives.  We even lived on top of a sand dune for four months with the Lake Michigan Sunsets available every night.  And for decades we would go down to the beach to catch the sunset, maybe a thousand times.  We never tired of it.

Of course we were “stuck” in Buffalo for a few years, and all we got were sunsets on Lake Erie.  And since you can almost see across Lake Erie, it just wasn’t the same.DSCN1117

Now we find ourselves living in the hills (that some call them mountains) of Pennsylvania,and when the sun goes down all we get is this.

ImageImageImageor this

ImagePretty depressing huh?

 I find it amazing that God can find a way to show His Glory wherever we are.  A beach or a mountain, a greenway or greyway.   Romans 1 puts it well, “ Ever since the world was created it has been possible to see the qualities of God that are not seen. I’m talking about his eternal power and about the fact that he is God. Those things can be seen in what he has made. So people have no excuse for what they do.”

We can try to talk our way out of God but it won’t be God who looks foolish.  We can say that this is all just some cosmic accident, but it is our foolish talk that ends up looking accidental.

I’m going to keep looking for sunsets, wherever I land.  I may land on my feet or on my backside.  But either way, I won’t stop looking for God’s Glory to be revealed all around me.

And I think I will look for it to be revealed in me as well.

Where do you see God?

Where do you look?

Leave a Reply

