Praying for your children #4

January 15, 2013

So often we read a verse in the Bible and try to apply it to our own lives, or the lives of our children.  One of the verses that has wrapped itself around me is Jeremiah 29:11.   iMOM has done what I would think is almost the perfect thing for a parent to do with this verse…make it into a prayer.

 

“I pray that you would give my child a plan for a future of hope and prosperity.”

 

When we know for sure that God is for us, we can pray this prayer with confidence.  How can we know for sure?  By reading, trusting and following His Word.  Here’s the verse from Jeremiah 29:11.   “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”   Certainly, there are passages in the Bible where God says to a specific person or group or nation, “If you do this, I will give you that.” and it doesn’t necessarily apply to everyone.   I think we need to carefully apply such a verse to our daily lives.  In Jeremiah 29, God is certainly addressing the Nation of Israel concerning their future.  His chosen people.  So how does a verse speaking to the Nation of Israel apply to me in 2013?

 

First, I am a child of God, a follower of Jesus.  I am one of God’s chosen people.  That makes me a joint heir of everything (Romans 8:17, Galatians 3:29, Ephesians 3:6, and others) God has promised.  If you are a follower of Jesus this promise is for you and your family.   Also important, everything in the Word of God points to the fact that God LOVES us, and wants to bless us.  I know, I KNOW not every blessing is wealth and power.  That is what makes this verse something to hold onto, to claim, to pray over our lives and over our children.

 

Let’s read it again.  “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”   

I used to joke at the words, “God loves you and has a wonderful plan for your life.”  But the fact is, He does!  He has no intention, even in disciplining us, to harm us.  His plan includes prosperity (not necessarily the North American kind) a future, and HOPE.

 

This means we can pray for God’s plans to be fulfilled in our children.  We can pray that they prosper, and have a future, and that they live with hope. And we can pray, not that they would be free from pain or things that hurt, but free from harm.  There is a difference.

 

This one verse contains so much promise that we could camp on it for the rest of our child’s life. And perhaps we should.  But in the meantime, boldly (Notice I used a bold font?  Clever, huh?) pray for a good, prosperous, hopeful future, free from harm.

 

Pray BOLDLY for your children.  Start today.

 

 

What bold, audacious prayer would you pray for your child if you thought God would approve?

What great hopes do you hold out for your kids?

Do you envision a great future for your child with God’s help?

Leave a Reply

