Don’t let them get away with it.

May 3, 2012

I know a man who told a lie once.

It was a long time ago, he was just a kid at the time, and he got away with it.  So the next time trouble reared its ugly head he lied again, and got away with it again.

Or at least he thought he did.  Now he is in the full throes of mythomania and there doesn’t seem to be a thing he or anyone else can do about it.  No one who knows him believes anything he says. A lie is the way he answers almost anything, whether he has done something foolish of not.  It has cost him friends and family members, and it won’t belong before his current relationships implode from his behavior.

Do I feel sorry for him?  No.  Not any more.  He claims to be a follower of Jesus but that could be just one more lie he concocted to get a date so many years ago.  Many have reached out to try to help him, but he apparently prefers loneliness.

Why do I say all this about a man who used to be my friend, and has lied his way out of that situation just like he would have fifty years ago with his father?  Because you may have an opportunity to change the future for someone who you love.

If your child lies and you know it, call them on it immediately and enforce strong consequences.  Do it every time and your child will learn that it is not in their best interest to try to lie their way out of a tough situation.  It will form and build into them therightcharacter if you catch and punish such behavior.  It will build in the wrong character if you notice and ignore.

I remember one time as a child that I lied, and was caught.  It is the only discipline I remember, and my father was a strict disciplinarian. I know it wasn’t the only time I was disciplined, it’s just the only one I remember, like it happened yesterday.  My father helped to shape my character thirty-nine years ago, and I am grateful.

You will never, ever be helping your child if you let them get away with a lie.  Never.  You will always help your child if you catch and correct lying behavior.  This is one of those situations where it really is as simple as that.  As parents there simply aren’t that many simple solutions, take advantage of it and help raise truthful children, who grow into truthful adults.

It’s either that or you raise someone with mythoria.

Leave a Reply

