Recalling memories and making new ones

January 3, 2012

When I was a very young boy I had a Yogi Bear “doll.”  My brother had a Huckleberry Hound.  Watching B&W television I didn’t know Huck was a blue dog until that Christmas.   (Huckleberry!  Duh!  Like I also didn’t know that Mr. Green Jeans wore Green jeans.  Just think of what we missed because we had a black and White  television.)   In case you were wondering, Yogi was brown, with a green tie.

I wore him out.  But I’ve told you that story, and the one about my dear friends replacing Yogi fifty years later.  Now every day I am reminded of how blessed I am.  Yogi oversees everything I do at work, and every day I am reminded of the treasure of the gift.  But more importantly the treasure of my friends.  I miss my them.  Some days a lot.  But all I have to do is look at Yogi and I smile.  I remember the first time I received him and the second.  And I thank God for treasures in my life.

Opening the Word of God and re-reading the familiar storied does that for me too, on a different level.  I am going to read the Bible front to back this year.  It won’t be the first time, and it won’t be the last.  But There will be places where I stop and frown, and places where I stop and smile.  there will be places, genealogies come to mind where I must force myself not to skip a section because of its apparent irrelevance to my life.  But even as I read the table of nations in Genesis 10 I had to remind myself that every single person counts.  Some may read that chapter and yawn, some other may read it and say, “See, this stuff couldn’t be made up!) and some of us will be reminded that our names are written in a book even more permanent than the Word of God! 

There will be places that leave me puzzled, and I will be glad that even with the mind of Christ I don’t know everything, yet.

There will be places where I think, “Why so harsh?” and be reminded that a Holy God has paid a high price for my love.

There will be places where I will be reminded of the stranger who took me down the Roman’s Road so many years ago.

My daily reading will help me know God better.  I hope I will be more holy because of this discipline.  I will be more able to answer critics with love and grace because of the time spent in God’s Word.

But most of all, I will be more grateful.  It’s already starting.  I had to keep from shedding a tear when thinking of my dear sweet friends.   I won’t try to stop it when thinking of my dear sweet savior.

Leave a Reply

