555

December 31, 2011

Kind of an interesting milestone, 555.  It’s not like 500, or a thousand, or a million.  But 555 is a nice number, nonetheless.  So I feel like I have to say something important.

This is post number 555 for me.  I wonder if there is enough for a book.  Well, there are more than enough words, but they are not arranged anywhere near good enough or fun enough or valuable enough for a book.  I haven’t said 555 important things.  Maybe 5.   Another 50 that were funny, and then 500 that were simply my opinion on what I had been observing, but not necessarily important

.  Maybe the next 555 will be better.  I am doing some things differently, and may actually start a different blog dealing only with ministering to kids.  What do you think about that idea?

It is December 31st, and Diane and I are attempting to set some personal, professional and spiritual goals.  The biggest challenge for Diane is to get me to be involved in the process.  But, we are thinking that perhaps John 13:34 should be our guiding verse for the year.  What do you think?  ” “A new command I give you: Love one another. As I have loved you, so you must love one another.”

So, as the new year is about to begin,  I am resolved to love better.  In addition to that I will ponder something Diane shared the other day:  “Striving for excellence motivates you; striving for perfection is demoralizing.”  ~Harriet Braiker  This is such a great quote about striving and perfection I tried to find a few more.  Hopefully I now provide you with the perfect number of quotes.

“Certain flaws are necessary for the whole.  It would seem strange if old friends lacked certain quirks.”  ~Goethe
“Nothing that is complete breathes.”  ~Antonio Porchia, Voces, 1943, translated from Spanish by W.S. Merwin
“A man would do nothing if he waited until he could do it so well that no one could find fault.”  ~John Henry Newman
“Ring the bells that still can ring Forget your perfect offering. There is a crack in everything, That’s how the light gets in.” ~Leonard Cohen
“To escape criticism – do nothing, say nothing, be nothing.”  ~Elbert Hubbard

Those are all pretty good.  I hope you all remember those when you find one of my innumerable typos.  I have not found that balance of writing, re-writing and proof-reading that allows me to put out flawless posts.  Maybe that’s so my perfectionist friends (of whom I have several) continue to have something to do.  If you promise not to be to hard on my imperfections I promise to continue to strive for excellence.  And maybe even learn to spell it.

I do have a few other goals, besides the ones Diane and I will finish putting together tomorrow.  They are not resolutions. 

I hope that this year I get a book or two taken up by a publisher.  I hope to write one  poem as good as Robert Frost’s Birches.

I hope to share the love of God with a million kids, but will settle for a few, the one’s God puts in my life.

I hope to bless you with my miscellaneous wanderings, well into the new year.

I hope I can be half the man Diane thinks I am.

Leave a Reply

