A very good quote with very poor commentary

December 19, 2011

I really didn’t want to post a rerun today, but my mind is going in so many directions, I can’t close any of the drafts I have started.  (Twenty, at least, in draft form.)  With the season of joy and the pain of friends, I just can’t get any where.  My humor seems too dry for Christmas.  (I know, you are asking What humor?)  I have at least a half-dozen drafts that revolve around some of my favorite jokes.  I guess they will have to wait until the new year.

I am feeling very blessed with a new job and friends both new and old. That is tempered with missing my friends and two years worth of accumulated flotsam and jetsam.  So maybe, I’ll just leave you with a quote that really struck me today, and ask for your thoughts.

“Leadership is about going somewhere…and if your people don’t know where you are going, your leadership doesn’t matter.”

Blanchard, Ken; Colleen Barrett (2010-11-29). Lead with LUV: A Different Way to Create Real Success (p. 22). Pearson Education (US). Kindle Edition.

OK, if you insist, here are a few thoughts that ran through my mind as I read and re-read this.

“Leadership is about going …  If you are a leader it is presupposed that you are going somewhere.   If you stop moving forward are you still leading?  If you are going backwards, are you still leading? If you are standing still, are you still leading.  I don’t think so.

Somewhere …I would rephrase this “somewhere worthwhile.”  Because where some people are leading, I’d rather not go, thank you very much.

…and if your people don’t know where you are going…  Leading is as much about articulating your vision as it is moving forward.  Lemmings following Lemmings  doesn’t constitute leadership, it constitutes death.   And in order to let your people know where you are going, you have to know where you are going.

 your leadership doesn’t matter.”  Or put another way, you are not leading, you are wasting time.

Okay, I guess that was just a tad harsh for the holiday season, wasn’t it?  The book I quoted from is very good, I recommend it, my attached blather not withstanding.  It is thought-provoking, even if all thoughts are not edifying.

So what do you think?  Got any examples of good leadership?  Bad?  I would like to hear from you.

Oh, and Lemmings don’t commit mass suicide, sometimes they just sometimes go swimming in a large group and some of them can’t keep up.  Sounds like poor leadership to me.

One Response to “A very good quote with very poor commentary”

  1. Sue said

    The main thing, is to keep the main thing, the main thing.

Leave a Reply

