Flat Spots

September 19, 2011

We spent the last couple of days in one of the most beautiful places I have ever been.  And the scenery was great too.  OK, that has a double double meaning.  This post started out being about the landscape, the wonder of creation.  But even as I started writing I realized that the visit we paid to a church in Pennsylvania was with some truly wonderful, beautifully spirited people.  Maybe I will post about that later.  Interested?

As we were traveled this weekend, spending time in the Greensburg /Latrobe PA area, both Diane and I noticed that it had been quite a while since we had seen a flat spot.  Other than inside buildings, everything was either going uphill or downhill.  I am sure the drainage must be good, but even the parking lots were built on hillsides.  You couldn’t leave anything round lying around, it would roll away every time.  You could stand in one yard and look down the chimney at the house next door.  Okay, that was a slight exaggeration,  But Santa could start at the highest house in town and just hop downhill and hit every house.  I don’t think I have ever been in an area that was so devoid of flat spots, geographically speaking.

This prompted my thinking, so here is a short list of things that seem to work better without flat spots.

Creativity:  Change, at least for me, is a catalyst for creativity.

Fitness:  Altering my routine prevents boredom and accelerates fitness gains.

Relationships:  No one I care about has bored me for a long time.  I hope they would say the same.

Roller coasters:   Do I really need to comment?

Water towers, water wheels and generators of almost every type need changes in geography to work at full efficiency.  Architects and designers would be lost without the french curves.

Life needs ups and downs to be, well to be life.  And even though I am often thought of a bit of a square, I think curves are an enhancement to most humans, too.

My writing has been on a flat spot for quite  a while.  Ironically that flat spot is there because life has thrown me a curve.  I think I need to go to the far end of the table and tilt it a bit.  That should get things rolling again.

So I am grateful for the elevation changes we encountered over the weekend.  It reminded me of the strength that comes from exercising on a hill, the interest maintained in growing, changing relationships, the benefits of gravity, and the surprises awaiting us over every hill.

Leave a Reply

