On rotten eggs and cabbages

September 13, 2011

Have you learned anything new lately?  Hatching any clever schemes?  Had any good ideas?  Sometimes circumstances conspire to kill creativity, I get that.  I often feel as if I am living that reality right now.  Notice how my posts aren’t as frequent as they were a few months ago?  But the lack of creativity may leave us smelling like a partially harvested cabbage field.  Or as someone with a better way with words put it,  “It may be hard for an egg to turn into a bird: it would be a jolly sight harder for it to learn to fly while remaining an egg. We are like eggs at present. And you cannot go on indefinitely being just an ordinary, decent egg. We must be hatched or go bad.” C. S. Lewis

So I am going to be spending more of my free time creating.  Having a limited amount of  manual adroitness as well as limited financial resources, I won’t create tangibles, like tables or telecommunications equipment.  Instead my focus will be on the freebies: ideas, words, dreams.  Many times we impose artificial limits on one part of our capabilities because of real limits on another aspect of our lives.  But at ten cents a kilowatt-hour, I think I can afford it.

So I resolve, with the help of God, to set myself free.  I will write daily until I have been released, until I write something worthwhile.  Maybe even profound.   I may smell like a cabbage field for a while, but even a rotting cabbage field is good for something.

Leave a Reply

