Prayers that make things happen

August 24, 2011

Did you ever do a study of the prayers in the Bible?  I immediately think of Hannah’s prayer in I Samuel.  She was so fervent in her prayers that bystanders thought she was drunk.  And the Psalms; prayers not only of thanksgiving, but pleas for mercy, prayers for the destruction of enemies, prayers we wouldn’t dream of praying.  But we can; and we should.

When I want to give or get encouragement from the Word, I turn to Paul’s letters.  They contain some of the best intercessory prayers I have ever heard.  I pray that I can someday pray like Paul.  Check out his prayer for his friends in Ephesus.

15For this reason, ever since I heard about your faith in the Lord Jesus and your love for all God’s people, 16 I have not stopped giving thanks for you, remembering you in my prayers. 17 I keep asking that the God of our Lord Jesus Christ, the glorious Father, may give you the Spirit[f] of wisdom and revelation, so that you may know him better. 18 I pray that the eyes of your heart may be enlightened in order that you may know the hope to which he has called you, the riches of his glorious inheritance in his holy people, 19 and his incomparably great power for us who believe. That power is the same as the mighty strength 20 he exerted when he raised Christ from the dead and seated him at his right hand in the heavenly realms, 21 far above all rule and authority, power and dominion, and every name that is invoked, not only in the present age but also in the one to come. 22 And God placed all things under his feet and appointed him to be head over everything for the church, 23 which is his body, the fullness of him who fills everything in every way.        (Ephesians 1:15;23)

There is nothing I could add to a prayer like that, but I will comment anyway, on the things that strike me right in my intercessor.

 I have not stopped giving thanks for you, remembering you in my prayers. I admit it.  I stop praying for other from time to time.  I get so wrapped up in me that I forget that the people I care about need prayers.  More importantly, I forget to be thankful.  So I pray that God will daily remind me of the things, and especially the people for which to be grateful and thankful.  I know that when I am living a thankful life, I am also more fruitful.

Oh, I am thankful for those of you who take the time to read my ramblings from time to time.

I keep asking that the God of our Lord Jesus Christ, the glorious Father, may give you the Spirit of wisdom and revelation, so that you may know him better.  Can you think of anyone who would not appreciate this prayer or its subsequent answer?  When you don’t know how to pray for me, this is it.  Hows that for a shameless request for prayer?

I pray that the eyes of your heart may be enlightened in order that you may know the hope to which he has called you, the riches of his glorious inheritance in his holy people,  and his incomparably great power for us who believe. Just read that over a couple of times.  I have nothing to add.

That power is the same as the mighty strength  he exerted when he raised Christ from the dead and seated him at his right hand in the heavenly realms,  far above all rule and authority, power and dominion, and every name that is invoked, not only in the present age but also in the one to come.   Some days I feel pretty powerless.  Powerless to act on my own behalf, let alone on behalf of someone else.  But as  I read Paul’s prayer,  and wrote these words, I prayed that everyone who reads them will have an abundant measure of resurrection power available  today.  I pray that you will know it, feel it, and use it for your good and God’s glory.

And God placed all things under his feet and appointed him to be head over everything for the church,  which is his body, the fullness of him who fills everything in every way.

Grace!  Mercy!  Peace!  Power, resurrection power to you in abundance today!

Remember, “The prayer of a godly person is powerful.  It makes things happen!  (James 5:17)

Leave a Reply

