Questionnaires

July 14, 2011

I have been filling out a lot of questionnaires lately.  I’m not complaining, it might be bringing me closer to a meaningful ministry position.  But there is something daunting about putting my feelings and philosophies down in print.  And there are so many questions!  I think I’ve answered over a hundred in the last week, from three different churches.

What’s your favorite bread?  Okay, so maybe that one isn’t on one of the questionnaires I’ve filled out, but it might be the only one I haven’t been asked.

I wonder what would happen if I just sent everyone a copy of the first questionnaire I filled out.  Most of the questions are similar, but of course not quite alike enough for me to simply copy and paste from one document to the next.

Do the prospective employers really get the information they are looking for?  Is this the best pre-screening tool available?  I suppose it is.  If church “A” is looking for someone who is concise, they can eliminate all the long-winded applicants simply by the weight of the document.  And church “B” might be looking for depth of character can eliminate any treatise that doesn’t match Victor Hugo for manuscript length.  So yes, it is worth the time.  Besides, what else do I have to do, blog?

Another question I have with these questions is, can I put my best foot forward without putting my foot in the door?  Is an e-mail response a good enough first impression?  Are my words an accurate reflection of my worth? Do my sentences express my spirit?  Does my manuscript offer a meaningful manifestation of my mind?  Am I exposing my heart, my passion?

It must be so.  It is the way things work when churches and potential candidates are scattered all over the country.  Perhaps that is why I keep trying to post something meaning full in this previously blank space.  I must keep percolating new thoughts, I must keep dreaming new dreams.

When it gets right down to it, there isn’t a single question in any of the questionnaires I received that made me ask, “Why do they want to know that?  They are almost all good questions.  They are the kind of questions I would ask if I were looking for someone like me.

So I hope my answers echo and reverberate through multiple souls as they  read my responses, so that they say to one another, “We need this guy!”  As I answer each one of over one hundred questions, I pray that The One Who Has All The Answers will speak into the hearts of the people reading the questionnaires, and direct their minds even as he is directing mine.

I pray that this is the round of questions that will lead to me being able to shout for joy as I help children do the same.  And I pray that I experience the Mind of Christ, and that the church that is about to offer me a position does as well.

Romans 15:5-6  (NIV)May the God who gives endurance and encouragement give you (us) the same attitude of mind toward each other that Christ Jesus had, so that with one mind and one voice you (we) may glorify the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ.

Leave a Reply

