Holiness

June 9, 2011

I’m still working on the post for the first part of this chapter.  I am struggling with how much of myself to reveal.  I know, I should worry about something more important, but there you have it.

The fifteenth verse of John 14 is not so difficult a passage to deal with.  “If you love me, keep my commands.”  

This is the only argument one needs to put forth to explain why I believe followers of Jesus need to try to live lives of holiness.  Jesus asks us to.  Any questions?

OK, good night.

 

 

 

 

 

Alright, I know, holiness is not the way of Salvation.  It is by Grace we are saved not works, lest anyone boast.    I’m not talking works righteousness, I’m not talking about earning my salvation.  I am talking about loving my Savior enough to obey him.  It won’t get me any brownie points in heaven.  But I’ll be in heaven and won’t need brownie points any way.

As a kid I obeyed more out of love for my parents than I did out of fear of punishment.  We can show Jesus (and the world by the way) that we love God by living lives of obedience.

It’s not rocket science.

Leave a Reply

