Trust me

June 3, 2011

John 14

1 “Do not let your hearts be troubled. You believe in God; believe also in me. 2 My Father’s house has many rooms; if that were not so, would I have told you that I am going there to prepare a place for you? 3 And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come back and take you to be with me that you also may be where I am. 4 You know the way to the place where I am going.”

After washing their feet, Jesus begins a long conversation with his disciples in John 13, and his recorded conversation is continued until chapter eighteen, when he is arrested.   These conversations were not simply recorded so that we knew what Jesus was talking about with his followers then.  He wanted us to know and understand these things as well   In these few chapters he share some of the most profound yet most loving thoughts.  Some of the deepest hurts and strongest words of encouragement are spoken from a breaking heart to breaking hearts.  The love Jesus had for his closest followers is unmistakable, and it strengthens the conviction that he loves me too.

Is your heart breaking?  Remember his loving words to all who follow him.

“Do not let not your hearts be troubled.”  When almost every word is troubling up to this  point, and when the outlook for the next few days are grim and everyone in the room is afraid for his life, Jesus says, in essence, “Don’t worry.  I’ve got it under control.”  It’s still true today.

To me it is like he is saying, “Nothing can happen to me that I don’t personally allow, and nothing will happen to you that is beyond my ability to redeem.”  You won’t understand it, you won’t like it, but we will get through this.

Trust me!

Trust me.

Leave a Reply

