How do you teach grattitude?

May 4, 2011

I was taught (as early as I remember) to say please and thank you.  But part of that process of  saying the right words was having the right attitude as well.  Maybe it’s because I have been so extremely blessed, (That post is coming up, you still have time to send me your list of blessings.) perhaps it is because I have been around grateful people, but I have a heart of gratitude.  I am grateful to my dear friends, my blessed wife and my wonderful Maker.  Even in the midst of the most financially and emotionally trying time of my life I still have much for which I am grateful.

So the other day a friend mentioned that as parents, they had given a great generous gift to some of their children.  One child was extremely grateful, and another was extremely ungrateful as well as ungracious.  If I had been the parent it that situation I would have simply taken back, rescinded the gift.  The child was fortunate that it didn’t happen, I hope at some point soon she is grateful as well.

Both of these children were raised by the same set of parents, which to some degree nullifies my question, but I will raise it anyway.  How do you teach your children gratitude?    I think it is one of a handful of principles that every parent should make every effort to instill in their children, along with generosity, trustworthiness, and a few more.  (I feel a series lurking about, don’t you?)

So before I tell you what I would do to grow a grateful child into a grateful teen and into a grateful adult, I would like to hear from you.

How do you raise a grateful child?  And if you are a teacher or leader of children, what do you do to reinforce the attitude of gratitude?

I would be grateful if you shared your thoughts and ideas.

One Response to “How do you teach grattitude?”

  1. Sue said

    I work in a school, and the teacher I work with expects and teaches our classroom to use gracious, kind and grateful words and actions. One day, a birthday girl gave out cookies to celebrate, but didn’t have enough to go around. She began to split the large cookies in half. One classmate protested loudly, others joined in. The teacher didn’t say anything right away. She waited for the birthday girl to leave the room and then she lowered the lights before giving the class a scolding and stern talk about their rudeness. She reminded the class about being kind and grateful. She also brought up that they were lucky to have been treated with cookies because there are some days we don’t even get a 1/2 a cookie! This class is learning from a really, really good teacher.

Leave a Reply

