SImple pleasures

April 20, 2011

One of the simple pleasures in my life is opening a warm oven, placing a sheet of over-sized cookies into that oven, and pouring myself a glass of milk in anticipation of what is to come, making a cup of tea or cocoa for my sweetie; an evening of homemade chocolate chip cookies and milk.   (The cookies are homemade, the milk is not.)

The converse of that would be burning my arm by reaching too far into that now hot oven, getting a blister on my tongue from an overly hot chocolate chip, and spilling my milk.

Life generally falls somewhere between those two extremes.  And we shouldn’t get too worked up if it goes either way, this time, because it will be different next time.  So put some ice on the arm, pour another glass of milk, and don’t cry over spilt milk.  Enjoy the blessings while you can, learn from the burn, have a cookie or two along the way.

One Response to “SImple pleasures”

  1. Sue said

    This is one of my all time favorite blog posts. Thanks for the encouragement. I think I’ll bake some cookies for my family today. “Live simply so that others may simply live.”

Leave a Reply

