Nothing to complain about

April 16, 2011

We had the park almost to ourselves today.  Only three cars in the lot when we arrived, not many more when we left.  It was very windy, and everyone else was, no doubt, watching the Sabres, but I’m not complaining.  Sure we saw the teen-aged drug dealers and their customers, but hardly anyone else.

The silence was not complete.  However, the noises we did hear were music to our ears.  Chickadees, Woodpeckers, Robins, even a Red-Tail Hawk interrupted our walk.  A deer, then two, then three, then, well, I don’t know how many.  They were in a hurry.

The wind howled, the clouds scowled, the deer prowled, it was a beautiful day for a walk in the park.  Contemplating opportunities somehow seems easier when the only ones around are not all that impressed with me.  I have two, perhaps three opportunities that did not exist a week ago, and once again I am filled with anticipation, waiting to see the wonder that God makes out of my two-year wander.

When I start to think that life is not fair, I am reminded again how unfair it has always been- in my favor.  I have time to wander some of the most beautiful places on earth with a beautiful woman who was made just for me; what do I have to complain about?

So as I prepare my heart for worship, I am thankful, grateful, and blessed.  I’ve got nothing at all to complain about.

Leave a Reply

