What does the abundant life look like? Part 2

April 2, 2011

The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy; I have come that they may have life, and have it to the full.”  (John 10:10)   The way I learned it, with The New American Standard translation, it reads like this, “”The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy; I came that they may have life, and have it abundantly.”

So, Grace is the first manifestation of an abundant life.  What might another be?  Although I would put Grace first, the rest are going to come as I think of them (or as you suggest them to me).

I think one of the measures of the Abundant Life is the Fruits of the Spirit, so I can easily get seven more posts out of this little conversation.

Another sign of the abundant life would have to be a sense of Justice, and I think something will come of that, as well Mercy.

This abundant life thing is kind of cool.  Because as I am thinking of the signs of an Abundant Life that I hope are made manifest in me, I keep thinking of characteristics of Christ. It seems the more abundant my life is as a Christian, the more I have to give away.  Being dead, flat broke in the water with no spare propeller, I still have more to give than I have at any time in my life.  It’s just that right now, I only have the important stuff, not the stuff with which to pay the bills.  Which is a nice reminder from the Spirit.  The Abundant Life Jesus promised is not an abundance of material things.  (It is for some, but not for others.) 

So I think, to conclude chapter two, I would just say that those living an abundant life look like Jesus. That in the midst of my (relative, current) poverty, I still have an abundance of those things that I need, to not only sustain a strong vibrant life for myself, but there is also more than enough to give away.

What do you think are the hallmarks of an abundant life?  I really would like to hear your thoughts and ideas, from scripture or from other sources.  Please hit the comment button and send you abundance my way.

One Response to “What does the abundant life look like? Part 2”

  1. Sue said

    One of greatest impressions of the abundant life was shown to me by a gray-haired, and long married couple who lived in an upstairs apartment in the middle of a drab neighborhood in the inner city of Buffalo. Our little group was welcomed into a home filled with love, honesty and graciousness that flowed from our host and hostess. I will never forget their home because it was above a Soup Kitchen where this couple worked, in the center of the dirtiest part of Buffalo I had ever seen. Even though they didn’t own a large house with a big yard or the nicest, most modern kitchen, they left me with the impression of great riches. Peace, love, faith and open arms were their calling card. Theirs was the abundant life and they shared it! I am forever grateful to them. : )

Leave a Reply

