Sounds that make me pray

March 31, 2011

I am trying to turn my everyday life into a prayer of thanksgiving and praise, and tune my everyday steps into the frequencies of heaven.

Sometimes I need to hear a prayer request in order to know what to pray.  Sometimes the sounds of the world bring prayer to my heart faster than an onion brings tears.  The prayers are never the same, which I think somehow makes them more sacred.

The sound of  the first family of Canada Geese to arrive chatting amongst themselves as they pass by overhead.  Or Blackbirds singing on the cattails. Springtime awakens in me a heart of wonder, gratitude and hope.

The sound of a non-motorized reel-type lawn mower.  Or a sharp shovel slicing into soft earth. The ability to appreciate and to participate in the making of a beautiful yard (or home) sharpens my delight and enchantment with God’s six-day effort.

The sound of children giggling hysterically after having almost killed themselves with silliness.  Or simply hearing them say, “I love you mommy.”  Scaring oneself silly brings our mortality close to home without danger.  Hearing a connection between parent and child brings our immortality closer without dying.

The sound of the first overpowered -under-brained motorcycle screaming down the road too fast for common sense.  Or a Mustang with a bad muffler.  The reminders of how I was spared to consequences of foolish adolescent behavior (engaged in less often these day) reminds me of the young people who still need my prayers.

The sound of music, in just about any style.  Or the stillness and silence or a house without electricity. Being in tune with the Concertmaster stirs my heart, my mind and my soul, even when I am incapable of expressing myself through song.  Not hearing a thing helps me listen better even when the noise returns.

More and more I am trying to turn my everyday life into a prayer of thanksgiving and praise, and tune my everyday steps into the frequencies of heaven.

Leave a Reply

