March 24, 2011

1 As Jesus went along, he saw a man who was blind. He had been blind since he was born. 2 Jesus’ disciples asked him, “Rabbi, who sinned? Was this man born blind because he sinned? Or did his parents sin?”  3 “It isn’t because this man sinned,” said Jesus. “It isn’t because his parents sinned. This happened so that God’s work could be shown in his life.  (John 9:1-3 NIrV)

So, what infirmities, handicaps or shortcomings do you have that can show of the work of God in your life?  Or, as I ask my self, “What have you been whining about that God wants to do something about?”   How can I let God into the parts of my life about which I am unhappy, embarrassed, ashamed, or just plain hurt?

I wasn’t born blind.  I wasn’t born rich.  Neither was I born with visions, or into poverty.  But I was created on purpose for a purpose. I think I know my purpose, but so often I have looked at my skills, talents, gifts and graces as the things God wants to use.  And for sure he does.

But he also wants to use my handicaps, hardships and weaknesses.  He wants to file down my frailties so they function like a  beacon, pointing out His goodness.  He wants to bend my bents so they lean toward him.  It’s refreshing to know that he can use my left-handed clumsiness as much as he can use my ambidextrous dexterity.  He can use my brain fogs and much as he can use my mind melds.  He can use my social awkwardness as much as he can use my conversational deftness.

God can use and be glorified with our very best, which comes from him.  And he can bring glory to his name with our blindnesses, physical, emotional, and spiritual.  Let’s choose to let God’s work  be seen in every aspect of our lives.

As he went along, he saw a man blind from birth.  His disciples asked him, “Rabbi, who sinned, this man or his parents, that he was born blind?”     “Neither this man nor his parents sinned,” said Jesus, “but this happened so that the works of God might be displayed in him.”  (John 9:1-3 NIV)

Leave a Reply

