The Great I AM

March 20, 2011

58 “Very truly I tell you,” Jesus answered, “before Abraham was born, I am!59 At this, they picked up stones to stone him, but Jesus hid himself, slipping away from the temple grounds.

The people who say to me that Jesus never claimed to be God are simply giving away the fact that they haven’t read the Gospels.  Louie Giglio has written a great small book (It is great in its smallness and in its content.) called I Am Not But I Know I Am that talks about The Great I Am.  Moderns and Post-moderns may not all understand the significance of Jesus’ words at the end of John 8, but there is no question that the Jewish people he was talking with knew exactly what he was saying.  When Jesus said, “before Abraham was born, I am.”  he was claiming to be God, without equivocation.

Let there be no question in your mind. You don’t have to trust him, you don’t have to believe him.  Lots of people have claimed to be God.  But none with the street cred of Jesus.    The reason the Jewish leaders of his day tried to kill him was because he claimed to be God.  Of course three days later he proved his claim to the Throne.

One of the major foci of a relevant ministry to children (and I guess to teens and adults as well) is teaching the fact that we can trust and believe Jesus; another is, what the Bible says is true is true.  We all must come to grips with these points and either accept them or reject them.  If we accept them, then we are called to live as if we believe it.


Leave a Reply

