Night lights

March 15, 2011

When I was a kid we had a night light in our room.  The room I shared with my brother, then my brother and sister, then my brother and two sisters.  With another brother and sister in my parents room, an addition was in order.  But, back to the night light.  It was a squirrel sitting on a tree stump.  I used to think it might be  skunk, but that just wouldn’t make sense.  It was a squirrel.  And depending on what color light was inside, it was either blueish, or reddish, or greenish.  The night light used  a small (by 1959-1963 standards) c5 Christmas light bulb, so whenever it burned out, the little squirrel changed color.  So as a child I seldom had to sleep in total darkness.  Of course with a small room holding four beds, I was never lonely either.  And never alone.

So walking in loneliness or darkness was not an issue for me as a child, even when sleepwalking.  But somewhere along the way I was confronted with the option of choosing darkness over light.  I chose the light, have you?

Jesus confronted some first-century sleepwalkers as well, here is what he offered them:  When Jesus spoke again to the people, he said, “I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will never walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.” (John 8:12)

Sometimes we walk in shadows, sometimes we walk in a fog.  But sometimes the darkness we walk in has been created by our own thoughts and behavior.  When we consistently follow Jesus, darkness is not a problem.

I don’t have (nor do I need) a night light any more.  I have a powerful flashlight instead.  It only works when the battery is charged.  Which means I have to give it regular attention to make sure it will do that for which it was made.

The same holds true for us.  We need to pay regular attention to the charging process to keep from walking into darkness.  Our charger is a solid prayer life.  I won’t tell you when you should pray, that’s up to you, but regular conversations with God are a requirement to keep charged up spiritually.  We also need to be plugged into the Power Source.  If we neglect the Word of God, we will not stay charged as long as we should, and then going into a dark place will be more dangerous.  Regularly using your light is also essential for long and effective life, and after all it is that  for which we were made.  So:  In the same way, let your light shine before others, that they may see your good deeds and glorify your Father in heaven.”  Matthew 5:16

With very little effort we can be a night light for some one.  But with a little more effort we can be  beacon.  Thin of the lighthouse, or runway lights at the airport.  These lights can be seen for miles and miles and miles.  We have to opportunity to be that kind of light in a dark world.

Shine!

Leave a Reply

