common ground

February 23, 2011

I’ve been trying to find common ground with a nephew I hardly know a thousand miles away.  Sometimes I think we might as well come from different planet.  It seems the only thing we have in common is my brother.  And that can always be pretty tenuous for a young man trying to find his own way in the world.  But I found something we both like:  music.

I don’t listen to the bands he does.  I probably don’t even consider all of it music.  And I’m sure my music would bore him to tears.    But music is music so we have a place where we can at least start a conversation.  This time it was tubas and trumpets and Taylors.  Next time it might be time signatures and tempos.  We might get around to sharps, flats and minor 7ths.  Maybe not.  But who knows, maybe we will even become friends.

I’m cool with that.

Leave a Reply

