Stand still.

February 12, 2011

3 Then Jesus went up on a mountainside and sat down with his disciples. 4 The Jewish Passover Festival was near.

5 When Jesus looked up and saw a great crowd coming toward him, he said to Philip, “Where shall we buy bread for these people to eat?” 6 He asked this only to test him, for he already had in mind what he was going to do.

7 Philip answered him, “It would take more than half a year’s wages to buy enough bread for each one to have a bite!”  (John 6:3-7, NIV)

Funny, even as I started reading this passage “The Three Questions” crossed my mind.  In case you didn’t know, The Three Questions is a tool I have used for years to help kids (and teens) {and adults, as it turns out} get the most out of their Bible reading.  The three questions are:

1.  What does this passage tell me about God?

2.  What does this passage tell me about people (or me)?

3.  What am I going to do about it?

As I read verse 7, question three was almost shouted.  And then an answer to the question was also shouted. I have come to the conclusion that the Holy Spirit wanted my attention.  I am currently in a position to be blessed by the miracle of the loaves and fishes.  It seems that the only way out of my current situation is a miraculous movement of God.  And I think he wants me standing by to watch.    Now, I should explain, having a job where I minister to kids and their families and get paid for it has always seemed like a miracle to me.  In even the hardest times children’s ministry has been a blessing.

But right now, when I am not currently involved in a ministry it would seem like even more of a miracle and a blessing.  God has used, and continues to use friends, near and far to help me through my situation.  But right now I feel like we are on the verge of The Feeding of The Five Thousand. I feel like I’m about the cross the Red Sea (see footnote that says “or Sea of Reeds”) on dry land.  I feel like stepping into the Jordan and watching the water pile up in a heap; like circling Jericho seven times with trumpets on the ready; like changing my name to Lazarus.

Any moment now the Lord God Almighty is going to break through this barrier that has blocked my way.  I have now idea how or where, I’m just saying….So please stand with Diane and me, and watch the Glory of the Lord be revealed.

Any moment now.

Sometimes question number three requires me to do something.  Sometimes something big. This time He just wants me to watch; and  give glory where glory is due.

Leave a Reply

