Brevity and levity

January 28, 2011

I’ve been thinking about my favorite blogs, and web pages.   What do you get if you cross an elephant and a kangaroo? It seems like the ones I like best are all rather on the short side.   Big holes all over Australia!

Maybe it’s because I have a very short attention span.  What do you get when you cross a stream and a brook?  Maybe it’s because I have so much to read, and to do. After all, there is only so much time in a day.  Wet feet.

Or, perhaps it’s because I like it when people get right to the point. What do you get when you  cross poison ivy with a 4-leaf clover?  My favorite sermons have almost all been brief.  One point sermons as opposed to three points and a poem. A rash of good luck.

After all, I have all the time in the world at the moment.  It’s not like I have to be anyplace five minutes from now. What lies on its back, one hundred feet in the air? I have a pile of books I’m working on, some fiction, mostly non-fiction. Many are very long, and I will finish them.  And I would not want my creations to be edited for length.  A dead centipede. But I like a 4-500 word blog better than a 1000 word post.  I like fiction with lots of short chapters, rather than a few long ones. What’s gray, eats fish, and lives in Washington, D.C.? The best most memorable presidential speeches are one topic, to the point messages.  The best commercials are the 15 second ones.  The Presidential Seal.

So, while I  won’t count words as I write, I will continue to try to be brief. What’s green and loud? I also hope I can occasionally interject a bit of humor into what I say.  Not all topics are good hosts to humor, but many are.  I think even Bible commentaries would be better served if they didn’t take themselves so seriously. A froghorn.

I’ll try to say what needs to be said, and no more.  What’s invisible and smells like a carrot? I am even thinking this post is getting a little long.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

