going to pot.

January 8, 2011

There used to be a phrase I heard all the time, when something started going bad.  I don’t know where the phrase came from (Share the information with me if you know.) but if something was looking ratty, of starting to spoil, or simply wasn’t working anymore people would say that it was going to pot.

With that in mind read the following passage from John, chapter two:

5 His mother said to the servants, “Do whatever he tells you.”

6 Nearby stood six stone water jars, the kind used by the Jews for ceremonial washing, each holding from twenty to thirty gallons.

7 Jesus said to the servants, “Fill the jars with water”; so they filled them to the brim.

8 Then he told them, “Now draw some out and take it

master of the banquet.”

I think you know the rest of the story, the water was turned to wine by the Savior.  And the wine was the best that had been served for the entire feast, which may have already lasted for several days.  My guess is that this was the best wine any of these people had ever tasted.

But I would like to return for a moment to the stone water jars.  Can you imagine the stories that surrounded those jars.  The servants, who knew that the jars had been filled with water, would remember the events of that day every time they walked past those pots, every single time.  They would tell their children, they would tell new servants, anyone who would listen.

I would love to be a stone water jar to be used by the master.  He could take my nothings and turn them into something great.  He could take my average and turn into spectacular.  Or as Diane would say, he could take my ordinary and make it extraordinary.

If I was completely given over to the master, so that in every aspect of my life I was able to say, “Do whatever he says.”  and live that way every day, can you imagine what Jesus would do with me.

I am going to try very hard to live like a stone water jar until He changes the water in me into wine.

Leave a Reply

