Three things I know about God.

January 4, 2011

Some people say that religion is confusing, and God, if there is such a thing, is unknowable, uncaring, and unloving. He is a distant God, one who cannot be understood. I disagree.

I can’t speak to all who hold to that point of view, maybe not any, but with just a bit of thought, and a bit of reading and those arguments fall apart quickly. Now I should say I don’t think we can lead anyone to Christ by arguing with them. I’ve tried it. Some will come from sheer reasoning, but no one will be bullied into believing what they don’t choose to believe, whether it is Christianity or the Pythagorean Theorem. Bullying doesn’t work. So I am not sharing these insights so that we have something to hit our pagan friends over the heads with. Rather I think theses things help me better understand and follow Christ, and perhaps they will help you as well. In fact, in just the opening verses of John’s Gospel we see much of what we need to know about Our Father.

1. I know that “all this” didn’t happen by accident. We are not the product of primordial ooze. We were created on purpose for a purpose. “Through him all things were made; without him nothing was made that has been made. In him was life, and that life was the light of all mankind. The light shines in the darkness, and the darkness has not overcome it.” (John 1:3-5 NIV) God was the creator, And at least one of his purposes in creating was to bring life and light to all mankind. In other words he had no intention of creating us and leaving us in the dark. Thought some choose to walk in darkness, that was not God intention or desire.

2. I know the reason and purpose for Jesus coming to earth. “There came a man who was sent by God; his name was John. He came as a witness to testify concerning the light, so that through him all men might believe.” (John 1: 6,7) Anyone who wants to know God can know him. He does not hide. He works in and through people like you and me to make himself known.

3. I know that I can be “saved” and become part of God’s family. Or as we would say in children’s ministry, part of his forever family. “Yet to all who receive him, to those who believed in his name, he gave the right to become children of God – children…born of God.”(John 1:12,13)

So, in something simple and straightforward, we see three Truths about God. He is our Creator. He is our Revealer. He is our Redeemer. Sure, I would like to know more, but what I know from this passage, He made me, he showed me the way, and he made the way; He Created us out of love. He revealed himself out of love. He saved us out of LOVE. I think I can trust him to reveal anything more I need to know. And by reading just the rest of John, we can learn a lot more.

So let’s keep reading and learning.

Leave a Reply

