The present of His presence

December 25, 2010

I remember the springtime, the year I turned sixteen.  I was at a boat show and someone confronted me with the Gospel in a way I had never heard before.  You see, I always believed that Christ died for the sins of the world.  It made sense to me somehow.  But this guy told me that Jesus died for my sins.  And he told me I had a choice to make.  I could either accept the free gift Jesus was offering me, or I could say, “no thank you.”  What was the gift?  Salvation.  Forgiveness for my sins; all of them.  That I could know for sure where I was going to spend eternity if I accepted the free gift.  I went home without saying one way or the other, so the guy that shared to good news won’t know till heaven that his message got through.  I went home and fell asleep with the assurance that Jesus would love me forever, that I was forgiven, that I was a child of God.

That was a great present.  Since then I have trusted God, by the Holy Spirit, to guide me in making wise choices.  Some of those choices could have led to jobs, to an income, but the Holy Spirit warned me that there are things worse than being without a job.  I could be without the presence of God in my life.  The present I received that spring night so many years ago was the presence of God in my life.

You too may choose that present.   Believe that this Jesus story is true.  (And there is plenty of evidence of that.)  Go beyond simply believing the story, understand the reason:  Jesus came, ultimately, to take the punishment we all deserve.  He paid the price for us.  Admit it, you need a savior, you need someone to pay the price for your sins.  Jesus did that for you.  Thank him.  Ask him to guide your life, to help you make wise choices.  Receive his gift of salvation, be set free from the consequences of your sins, and become a child of God.

Receive the present of his presence.  And have a merry Christmas.

Leave a Reply

