A $61,000 mistake

November 17, 2010

This is a porch spider!!

This is a Porsche Spyder!!!

Notice the difference?  Notice the importance of good pronunciation?  Good spelling?  Good listening?  I mean, I have been bitten by the car bug, and I have been bitten by spiders.  And there is a difference.

These two pictures should remind us to be very clear in our communications.  Speaking as well as listening skills can help you avoid a $61,000 mistake.

I’m not saying buying a Porsche would be a mistake.  It is today a mistake for me, but a year from now, who knows.  (Well, I pretty much do.   I mean, you can only drive a Spyder a few times a year.  A Carrera 4, now that’s a Buffalo sports car.  But I digress.)

Not paying attention to details can be devastating.  Forgetting dates and names can be embarrassing and costly.  Not listening carefully, not speaking carefully, these habits can cost us that which is more valuable than money.  It can damage relationships.

Knowing the difference between a spider and a Spyder simply means paying attention. I thinks James said is well.

“My dear brothers and sisters, take note of this: Everyone should be quick to listen, slow to speak and slow to become angry…” (James 1:18)

We need to listen more than we talk, think more than we speak.  I believe that this works well when communicating with people, and I believe it is even more helpful when communicating with God.  It is difficult, but I’m working on it.

I don’t think I will be rewarded with a Spyder, but that’s OK.

zoom

One Response to “A $61,000 mistake”

  1. Sue said

    Oh! I just heard a message from Christ Fellowship church (online and multi site in FL) about this same topic. Our perceptions are important to relationships esp. at Holiday times because if we are not careful, we might miss the opportunity to love others and offer to them the best hope of all, Jesus. When we’re careful to listen and be sensitive, rather than defensive and all closed up, we have the grace to share hope with the hurting. This is why I believe it’s not a bad thing to go thru seasons of stuggle which break our heart and give us a very intimate and tender perspective of fellow strugglers. I think this postiing is right on target.

Leave a Reply

