Making a few small deductions

November 14, 2010

I like Sherlock Holmes.  I have read most of the stories; I’ve downloaded several collections for my Kindle For PC. The copyright on many of the stories expired in 1980, fifty years after the death of Arthur Conan Doyle (No relation to Arthur Conan the Barbarian) so the works are part of the public domain and  therefore the downloads are free.  (As was my Kindle For PC.) In the last month or so I have re-read a couple dozen stories and still enjoy them, decades after I was first introduced to them.  I haven’t seen any of the movies with Basil Rathbone, but I like Like Robert Downey Jr. fairly well in his role.  But it is Jeremy Brett who was the best.  I have seen all of the PBS series with Jeremy Brett, and quite frankly, he is the best Holmes I have seen.  I just finished watching Benedict Cumberbatch portray a 21st century Sherlock in Masterpiece Mystery, and thoroughly enjoyed it.  I look forward  to the two remaining episodes of this series.

“Cumberbatch’s Holmes was described by the BBC as:  ‘brilliant, aloof and almost entirely lacking in social graces. Sherlock is a unique young man with a mind like a ‘racing engine’. Without problems to solve, it will tear itself to pieces. And the more bizarre and baffling the problems the better. He has set himself up as the world’s only consulting detective, whom the police grudgingly accept as their superior.'”  (Wikipedia and BBC1)

So…sometimes I feel like Sherlock, with a racing mind, looking for problems to solve.  And of course with no meaningful work to occupy myself with recently, there are days when it feels like my mind will soon tear itself to pieces as well.  I do like having friends around more that Sherlock does, but I can be contented to be left alone to think.  But that’s probably where the similarities end.  I like the mind of Sherlock Holmes.

But if I had a choice, and I do, I prefer the mind of Christ.  Fortunately the mind of Christ is more accessible than the mind of Sherlock Holmes.  (I Corinthians 2:16)  And if I am stumped or stymied, I can renew my mind, and solve the most puzzling spiritual riddles.   I can also avoid sin and please God by this activity.  I believe it actually please God when I humble myself, ask God to renew my mind, to give me the mind of Christ.  “Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is—his good, pleasing and perfect will.  For by the grace given me I say to every one of you: Do not think of yourself more highly than you ought, but rather think of yourself with sober judgment, in accordance with the faith God has distributed to each of you.    (Romans 12:2, 3)

Unlike Sherlock, humility takes me a long ways toward gaining the insights needed to navigate a world in which evil exists, and (I hope temporarily) paychecks don’t.  So I seek God’s wisdom, which he has promised (James 1:5) I seek the mind of Christ, and I seek the heart of the savior, even as I seek answers to the employment problem that has been plaguing me like Professor Moriarty for months now.   My brain may or may not help me find a job, but God will, and in the mean-time, the more like Jesus I become, the better at any job I end up with will be.

Really, its elementary.

Leave a Reply

