How important is a title?

September 26, 2010

I suppose if I achieved a terminal degree at some point in my life I’d like to be known as Dr..  But that’s not gonna happen.  But I do respect those who have achieved that lofty goal.   Sir Elton John impresses me no more than Regular Elton John, but I’m not part of the Empire, so I can’t really speak to that title.

And regardless of the age-old adage, most of us do judge a book by its cover; a good title can make or break a books climb up the best-seller list.

Earlier today someone (sitting next to me on the sofa) commented that my last blog post needed a title.  Why?  Because “No Title” is a lousy title.  So we “discussed”  it a bit, and if you notice, I added a title.  It’s sooooo much better now, don’t you think?

I struggle with sermon titles, and also with titles for newsletter articles I would write.  I have had several articles published in magazines, and the titles always gave me trouble, and my titles were usually changed by the magazine anyway, so I have not worried too much about titles.  Perhaps I should,  but it’s almost always the last thing I think about.

But then there are titles for the King.  Here are just a few that I got from a website called: http://smilegodlovesyou.org/names.html

OLD TESTAMENT NAMES FOR GOD

ELOHIM……Genesis 1:1, Psalm 19:1 meaning “God”, a reference to God’s power and might.

ADONAI……Malachi 1:6 meaning “Lord”, a reference to the Lordship of God.
JEHOVAH–YAHWEH…..Genesis 2:4 a reference to God’s divine salvation.
JEHOVAH-MACCADDESHEM…….Exodus 31:13 meaning “The Lord thy sanctifier”
JEHOVAH-ROHI……Psalm 23:1 meaning “The Lord my shepherd”
JEHOVAH-SHAMMAH…….Ezekiel 48:35 meaning “The Lord who is present”
JEHOVAH-RAPHA………Exodus 15:26 meaning “The Lord our healer”
JEHOVAH-TSIDKENU……Jeremiah 23:6 meaning “The Lord our righteousness”
JEHOVAH-JIREH………Genesis 22:13-14meaning “The Lord will provide”
JEHOVAH-NISSI………Exodus 17:15meaning “The Lord our banner”
JEHOVAH-SHALOM……..Judges 6:24meaning “The Lord is peace”
JEHOVAH-SABBAOTH……Isaiah 6:1-3 meaning “The Lord of Hosts”
JEHOVAH-GMOLAH……..Jeremiah 51:6 meaning “The God of Recompense”
EL-ELYON…………..Genesis 14:17-20,Isaiah 14:13-14meaning “The most high God
EL-ROI…………….Genesis 16:13 meaning “The strong one who sees”
EL-SHADDAI…………Genesis 17:1,Psalm 91:1 meaning “The God of the mountains or God Almighty”
EL-OLAM……………Isaiah 40:28-31 meaning “The everlasting God”

So…some titles are worth thinking about.

Oh, and Lily was feeling left out, so….

Leave a Reply

