From the top of a ladder (where nobody will ever see)

September 15, 2010

So I’m standing near the top of a tall extension ladder, (reasonable rates, not cheap, reasonable,  meticulous workmanship) trying to get the paint on just right without falling to my doom, when a Voice in my head (A lying voice, not to give away the plot.) says to me, “No one will ever see it way up here, you don’t have to be so particular.”  Fortunately, even in my gloom, I recognized the voice and told it to go home.  And even if no one else ever sees it, I know it’s done right.

Most of what we do from day-to-day no one else will ever see.  It’s just between you and God and maybe your spouse and kids.  But what do we do when no one is looking?  I hope my life, at least most of the time,  is like my house painting; I want to do my best no matter who knows it. 

Granted my best is not necessarily the same from day-to-day.  Depending on the task, my fitness level, my gloom level, some days my best just isn’t good enough.   But some days it’s spectacular.   So, I try to, as Keith Green put it, “Keep doin’ your best, pray that it’s blessed, and Jesus takes care of the rest.”

Some days it is easier said than done.  It’s a moving target, but even if my customers climb a ladder to check my work, I want to pass inspection.   Even more so where it really counts, in the rest of my life. 

Thank heaven for Grace.

Leave a Reply

