Fun with Jesus remembered

September 10, 2010

Jesus had just cleared the temple, and it made the Jewish leaders mad, so… John 2: 18Then the Jews demanded of him, “What miraculous sign can you show us to prove your authority to do all this?”    19Jesus answered them, “Destroy this temple, and I will raise it again in three days.”

And I thought, before continuing….Did John remember this years latter, or did he know Jesus was talking about his body when it happened?  My guess is 20-20 hindsight.  I wish I had 20-20 foresight sometimes as I look to where I am going in the dark.

Then I read some more…John 2:20The Jews replied, “It has taken forty-six years to build this temple, and you are going to raise it in three days?” 21But the temple he had spoken of was his body. 22After he was raised from the dead, his disciples recalled what he had said. Then they believed the Scripture and the words that Jesus had spoken.

So I guess revelation comes when it will, and I will take it when I get it.  I wonder how many times as the eleven sat around and reminisced one of them would say, “Do you remember when…”  and suddenly they would get all excited and all talk at once as something just became crystal clear for the first time.  Then they would laugh like a bunch of fifth grade boys at their own foolishness of the past in light of the resurrection.  I think this is what the psalmist means when he said, “Delight yourself in the Lord….” (Psalm 37:4)

At times we all have trouble finding joy in the moment.  Sometimes months go by with nothing delightful or joyful seeming to occur.  When we are in the midst of those times, call a friend, and have a chat.  Try to recall “that time” when God did something spectacular in your life.  Or maybe he did something silly.  Or maybe you did and he rescued you.  Whatever the case, recall what God has done for you in the past, enjoy every bit of it all over again, and get back to your troubles.

I’ll bet they’ll be lighter.

Hey do you remember the time we were fishing all night and didn’t catch anything?  Then Jesus, ha, Jesus called to us from the shore. and Pete, Ha! Pete put his clothes on and jumped into the lake and swam to shore.  Ba!  Ha, Ha, Ha Ha Ha!

Oh, man, I really miss the fun we used to have with Jesus.  Hey, lets go heal some folks, OK?

Leave a Reply

