An amazing accomplishment

September 6, 2010

With Diane, I have lived in one house that I owned, two parsonages, two rental houses and two apartments.

As I drove into our driveway this evening, after dark, I was struck once again with gratitude to God for Diane.  She has made every place we have lived, from the smallest apartment to the biggest house, feel and look like home.  This is something she has accomplished with much effort, and amazing speed.  Almost as soon as we settle in, actually before we settle in, she has it looking and feeling enough like home that I can settle in! Amazing!  Sometimes it is with art, sometimes with plants, sometimes with paint.  It could be the way she arranges things just so.  I don’t know what it is.  I can’t even describe what she does physically.  I can’t do it with her.  If I did I would help.  But, in no time at all, and from then till the day we move out, she makes our dwelling feel like our home.

And I am more grateful for this than I can put into words.  And there are no pictures, though I have many.  Because pictures cannot do justice to the joy of being at home.

It won’t be long now and we will be moving again.  I don’t know where, and I don’t know when.  But I do know, where ever it ends up being, I will be home.  And it is because Diane makes it so.

Leave a Reply

