Are you KIDDING me!!??

August 30, 2010

As you may be able to see by the verse reference,  I’m not taking this wander through John 17 in any particular order.  As I was finalizing my thoughts from my message yesterday, verse 26 jumped out at me like a freight train so I thought I’d spend a moment on it this morning.   OK so freight trains don’t jump, but this verse got my full undivided attention.

“25“Righteous Father, though the world does not know you, I know you, and they know that you have sent me. 26I have made you known to them, and will continue to make you known in order that the love you have for me may be in them and that I myself may be in them.”  (John 17: 25,26)

To me, one of the outstanding requests Jesus made of the Father in  this prayer comes at the very end, and we can miss it sometimes, because we are almost done, and, well, we just keep reading but we may stop thinking.   So take another moment and read that last sentence.

26I have made you known to them, and will continue to make you known in order that the love you have for me may be in them and that I myself may be in them.”

Read it again.  Really.

“26I have made you known to them, and will continue to make you known in order that the love you have for me may be in them and that I myself may be in them.”

Now imagine how much you think God the Father, loves God the Son.  Got it?   No, it’s probably too big a thought for you to grasp.  Just grab a hold of the fringe of that thought.  How much does God the Father love God the Son?  Got a mental image?   It’s too small!!!

Go outside at night and count stars for an hour, then multiply the image in your head by that number.  It’s still too small!!!!

No matter what image we come up with it’s too small. Imagine how much you live your child (children).  Imagine the greatest love in your life.  We cannot begin to fathom a love, like the love God the Father has for God the Son.  And yet one of the last prayers of Jesus before he was arrested  was that his father love you and me as much as he loves Jesus.

It makes me want to scream!!!!!!!!!!!!  Are you kidding me!!??  He loves me HOW MUCH???

26I have made you known to them, and will continue to make you known in order that the love you have for me may be in them and that I myself may be in them.”

God answers every single prayer of Jesus with a YES!  I can almost imagine him say, OK son, I will.

The love God has for Jesus, he has for you, today.

The love God has for Jesus, he has for you, right this moment.

The love God has for Jesus, he has for you.

Leave a Reply

