Why pray

August 28, 2010

Two questions often come to mind where prayer is concerned:

The first: Why pray? God, you know what I want, and you know even better than I do what I need, so why make me ask?  Just give it to me already.  If God is sovereign what does he need me for?

The second: How can I pray effectively? Or more honestly, how can I get God to answer my prayers my way.  But what we really want is to be effective in our pray life.

The answer to the first question is easy.   I hope I don’t sound too much like your mother here,but this is a solid, reasonable, answer.  We pray Because God tells us to!

Ask seek knock    I command you to command me.

He tells us to.  That should be a good enough reason.  That should give us reason to hope.  He only asks us to do things that are good for us. Listen to these words from the Word:

Deuteronomy 4:29 But if from there you seek the LORD your God, you will find him if you look for him with all your heart and with all your soul.

Proverbs 8:17 I love those who love me, and those who seek me find me.

Matthew 7:7 & Luke 11Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you.  For everyone who asks receives; he who seeks finds; and to him who knocks, the door will be opened.

Jeremiah 29:11-13 11 For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. 12 Then you will call upon me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. 13 You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.

God chooses to work through our prayer.  He could have picked any other way..he chose to use our prayers.

It is the method God chooses to work most of what he does in the world now that Jesus has ascended. Actually throughout human history God has used the prayer of his people to do great things.

So pray because he tells us too.  Also it keeps the lines of communication open ever when the communication on our part is not so hot.  Even when we don’t feel like praying, even when we feel like words are not even making it to the ceiling, let alone bouncing off the ceiling, we need to keep praying.

Listen to  the prayers of David – a man after God’s own heart:  Psalm 55

1 Listen to my prayer, O God, do not ignore my plea; 2 hear me and answer me My thoughts trouble me and I am distraught  3 at the voice of the enemy,  at the stares of the wicked; for they bring down suffering upon me  and revile me in their anger.  4 My heart is in anguish within me;  the terrors of death assail me.  5 Fear and trembling have beset me; horror has overwhelmed me.  6 I said, “Oh, that I had the wings of a dove!    I would fly away and be at rest…”

It comforts me to know that a man of God like David felt like that sometimes too.  It’s ok to cry out in pain and distress but then he continues…

16 But…a long pause with maybe a sigh…not in the original Hebrew, but I can feel it; I call to God, and the LORD saves me.  17 Evening, morning and noon, I cry out in distress, and he hears my voice.  18 He ransoms me unharmed  from the battle waged against me, even though many oppose me.

So we pray because he asks us to, he tells us to. And don’t be afraid to tell God your heart.  That is the way he works.

I don’t know why, but I know this is true…Prayer activates God’s power in the world

Maybe the best reason of all we pray because it’s a way for us to communicate with HIM!

One Response to “Why pray”

  1. Sue said

    I am encouraged by this post. When I think about how God is so enormously powerful and big and yet he chooses to invite me, small and weak as I am, to come to him and ask for what I need, it just fills me up with gratitude. Prayer is a wondrous gift. Thank you for sharing the truth.

Leave a Reply

