August 22, 2010

When I was a kid there were a few prayers that we were to commit to memory.  The Lord’s Prayer,  The Apostles Creed, The Hail Mary, and bedtime and dinner time prayers.  As I got older and grew in my faith, tried to really follow Jesus, I sometimes wondered why we needed these repetitions prayers, and even quoted the Bible to explain why I no longer repeated the prayers of my youth.   But when ye pray, use not vain repetitions, as the heathen do: for they think that they shall be heard for their much speaking.”  (Matthew 6:7 KJV)

But there was something about the memorization process that helped to solidify what it was that I believe.  I have been trying to learn how to play the guitar for a number of years now and, and what works best is mind numbing repetition.  I watch the worship band, and it looks so fresh, so new, so alive, and I know that most worship leaders could do it in their sleep.  That’s because they have practiced the songs hundreds of times. And for us at least, it sounds better, fresher because they have played that often.  In some cases repeating the familiar helps our worship.

So my thought on the subject is this:   A prayer recited every single day of our life might just be good for us.  Because it can focus our attention. A memorized prayer can remind us of some of the essentials of our faith that the worries of the day have tried to block out.

Just like memorized Scripture, memorized prayers can come to mind right when we need them, they can be used by the Spirit to divide Truth from lies.

So, just as you have encouraged your children (and yourself?) to learn Bible verses from memory, don’t be afraid to have some “go to” prayers to keep right on the tip of your mind.

It might even make your prayer life fresher, new every morning.


One Response to “”

  1. Sue said

    What good thoughts. I worked for a Pastor who taught me use a discipline called, “The Divine Hours”. For about 5 minutes, 5 times a day using the words of Hymns, Psalms and the Bible, this pattern of prayer helps my relationship with God by establishing a foundation of communication. Some will criticize it for being repetitive. I found the repetition encouraging and comforting, like meeting a FAITHFUL FRIEND throughout the day.

Leave a Reply

