scent of the savior

August 21, 2010

We were at a campfire recently with a group of friends.  Big roaring fire, lots of friends, lots of marshmallows, and most importantly, lots of chocolate.  We spent a couple of hours around a roaring fire followed by an hour of so near the embers.  Then we went home.

And as I pulled my shirt off over my head, it all came back…my shirt was permeated with the smells of campfire.   I know, I know, some of you are going ugg!  Time to wash that shirt.  And it was.  But – those smells reminded me of every happy, silly and silent moment around the fire.  My shirt had been infused with the incense of the evening.

My hope and prayer  is that we will desire to be permeated with the Truth of God’s Word in such a way that it infuses our lives the way the smoke infused my shirt.  So every part of our lives will be filled, permeated with, the scent of the Savior.

II Corinthians 2: 15-16 says, “For we are to God the aroma of Christ among those who are being saved and those who are perishing. To the one we are the smell of death; to the other, the fragrance of life.”

May you smell like Jesus this week.

Leave a Reply

