Three not so little words

August 7, 2010

Once upon a time (This is not a fairy tale ever though it may begin like one.) I heard (or read, I really don’t remember which) three words.  The made enough of an impression on me that I wrote them down, and now, I have to ask myself, do these words have anything at all to do with my life today? 

The words; Consistency. Understanding. Excellence. Every time I look at them I think, “That’s what I want my life to be.” But is it?

I’d like to reflect for a few moments on why I think these words are crucial, and then hopefully how they can be implemented in life and ministry.

Consistency. I say that I am a Christ follower, a believer, a disciple.  But if my actions do not reflect my words, my inconsistency will at best confuse, and at worse cause someone to stumble (Luke 17:2; I Corinthians 10:32) My life needs to line up with what I say I believe, all the time. This means on a Sunday morning when everything is falling apart.  Or these days on a Sunday morning when all I have to do is worship and it seems too difficult a task.  It also means the the 5 minute period once a month when everything seems to be just as it ought to be.

Understanding If we have an understanding of the needs of others we can offer relevant words of wisdom or truth from the Word of Truth; or simply offer a shoulder to cry on, or lean on.  It’s only with understanding that relationships develop. If we have even an inkling of understanding of the will of God we can change the world.  Understanding God.  Understanding people. 

Excellence I must do my best because that is what I am called to do. Whether writing a blog that three people read or a book that thousands will read.  Not the best, just my best. And that will change from day to day, but I should not offer up shoddy sacrifices.  (I Chronicles 21:24)

Without understanding of course excellence is of little value.  Without excellences, consistency is impossible.  Without consistency, understanding is useless.

How do I implement these words into my life?  Colossians 3:23 says, “Whatever you do, work at it with your whole heart, as working for the Lord, not men.”  Wholeheartedness is my goal. 

And I guess my fourth word.

 

,

Leave a Reply

