seize, and enjoy, the moment

August 4, 2010

We must all, at some point, come to the conclusion that we only see part of the picture.  (I Corinthians 13)  No matter what it is we are looking at, it will always be from our current perspective, which means we will always be seeing a skewed image.  Pop culture is a good example.  I dislike almost all aspects of pop culture.  That’s because I see, for example, an artist who performed Christian music not all that long ago who now performs in her underwear, or maybe it’s someone else’s underwear; either way I don’t care for it.  I don’t know, maybe my perspective is skewed.  I read interviews with artist, actors, and others, who have made public professions of faith, but whose foul language and choice of film roles leaves me wondering what I missed.  Perspective.

I wasn’t that long ago that I said something to the effect that able bodied men and women should have no excuse for not working; I had, at that point, been working continuously since I was thirteen.  Now?  My perspective has changed quite a bit.

Louie Giglio has spoken of a piece of art that reminds him of his father, yet at the same time  gives only a fraction of a glimpse, not only of his father, but of the larger work of art from which the piece was drawn.  We only get a thumbnail sketch of our own story, we barely get a glimpse of anyone else’s.   I love the perspective that C.K. Chesterton, put on the concept of perspective:  “I tried to be ten minutes ahead of the truth and found I was eighteen hundred years behind it.”  (From  Orthodoxy) Giglio again come to the rescue with a book, the title of which says it all: “I am not, but I know I Am. We don’t need the whole picture, God has it.  We don’t need to know the future, God does.  Besides,  we can’t keep from messing up the present, we can’t deal with all the information this moment provides, how could we possibly think we could handle foresight?

So while I really wonder what is next for me, I must content myself with the present, and make the best of this moment.  Or as it has been so much better said,  “In any weather, at any hour of the day or night, I have been anxious to improve the nick of time, and notch it on my stick to; to stand on the meeting of two eternities, the past and future, which is precisely the present moment; to toe that line.”  (Walden, Henry David Thoreau, italics mine)

So I will, as Horace suggests, carpe diem, I will sieze the day.  It’s just too hard to carpe carp (seize the fish).   But I think I will do more than just grab it.  I think I will, as Horace’s poem originally meant it to be, I will enjoy the day!

How about you?

Seize the day, seize whatever you can
‘Cause life slips away just like hourglass sand
Seize the day, pray for grace from God’s hand
Then nothing will stand in your way
Seize the day.

(Seize The Day, Carolyn Arends, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7lmqtYR5tJo)

Leave a Reply

