It’s not the same without you.

July 3, 2010

I ran into some friends in the store the other day.  One of them, a young man who, not too long ago, was a part of my ministry.  He said what I have heard before, “It’s just not the same without you.”

While I was touched by his words, and the spirit with which they were given, I was reminded of a sacred truth,: It is just not the same without you! Although we are all fearfully and wonderfully made, we are all made differently; different in every way imaginable. The old saying, “If we could both do it then one of us is not necessary.” is true.   We should feel good about this.  We have all been created on purpose surely, but for a purpose also.  I am not here to do what you have been called to do, nor are you here to do that for which I was created.

Now, I know some will say that is is not the same without me…it’s better.  This may very well be true.  For when we are replaced, for good or ill from man’s perspective, God can make it better.  Really.   So while I may not immediately benefit from a change, and you many not see any benefit, if we trust God, we can know that it will be better, not only for the one who replaced me, but for me too, eventually, and you too, eventually.  We can trust that God will not let anything happen to us that he cannot repair, redeem and reanimate when necessary.  Look what he did for Lazarus.  He can, and I believe will, do the same for me.

Oh, and you too.

One Response to “It’s not the same without you.”

  1. Sue said

    And this may very well be NOT true. It may be * different* but definately not better without YOU. Of course, I’m biased because I distinctly remember the first time you walked into the church parlor after a long search for our Children’s pastor, and introduced yourself to me and my children. (Which were very good memories for my little family.)

    Sometimes, I believe “the church” does the most outragously GOOFY things. Really, really GOOFY! But, I’ve since then stopped trying to understand the ways of man, and put my hope firmly in God alone. This is a good way to live!!

Leave a Reply

