The Sonic Boom

June 20, 2010

I remember going to an air show a number of years ago, and the show started with a pair of the fast ones.  F-15’s or 16’s.  I don’t remember which, just that they were fast.  The announcer said that two would be flying by; the first would be fast and the second slower so we could get a good look at it.  As the first one came by it was moving almost as fast as I could move my head to watch.  It was incredible.  But when it got directly in front of the crowd the second one passed it so quickly that it blew my hair back!  Unbelievable!  It was the most incredible display of speed and power I’ve ever seen.  And I thought the first jet to come into view was fast.

Recently a relationship came to an end almost as quickly.  It blew my hair back, such was the shock.  One moment a conversation aiming toward reconciliation was under way.  The next moment the conversation was over with a bit of nonsense that was stupefying in its absurdity.  Fortunately the Holy Spirit was present, and reminded me of Truth.  There is still  pain in the loss of friendship, and in the ways that some try to justify their behavior, but for me it firmly and finally closed a door that I need not ever go through again.

Sometimes an event happens at a speed that creates a sonic boom in your life.  The sound wave can shock, but if you know the source it doesn’t have to frighten.  In this walk most of us are on, there are battles taking place, “…against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms.” (Ephesians 6:12)  We need to remember that people are not the enemy.  People sometimes are all we see in the battle, but they are not the enemy.  I will continue to pray for the one who offended, recognizing the real enemy was easy.  This time.

So I put on my armor every day now.  Wait!  It’s not my armor I put on, it is God’s armor! And it will protect me, and hopefully it will protect the one with whom I used to have a relationship, from the sonic boom, and also the destruction that can happen when the enemy attacks.  God’s armor is there for you to when you need it, it might be wise to wear it every day.

One Response to “The Sonic Boom”

  1. Sue said

    “A bit of nonsense that was stupifying in its absurdity..” I think that you put those words together beautifully. It never ceases to amaze me how relationships/communication can get so fouled up that we are stupified in absurd nonsense. I am the Chief of misperception, and miscommunication so I’m absolutely certain that I have stupified many! Ugh.

    Lucky for me, our humongous God of love, grace and glory is forgiving and restores messed up Ragamuffin fouls like me.

    I think that when we truly love our enemies, we are most like God.

    “He shuts doors no one can open, and opens doors no one can shut.”

Leave a Reply

