When Friends Fall In

June 5, 2010

When I was a teen (a lonely teen, but weren’t we all.) one of my favorite songs was by the Canadian rock Band The Guess Who.  Although I felt that I had few friends a song that resonated with me was When Friends Fall Out. Here are the lyrics.

(When Friends Fall Out- Bachman-Cummings)
The lone wolves howl
On Moonlight Bay
Dark moon is out
When friends fall out
When friends fall out

Birds aren’t alone
You’ve past all doubts
Their world has grown
When friends fall out
When friends fall out

A journey is plastic for
Someone who’s walking on air
He falls through elastic and
There is no net waiting there
And it’s so nice to be home again
So nice to be home again
Where I belong

No night, no day
No in, no out
No work, no play
When friends fall out
When friends fall out (listen to me talkin’)
When friends fall out (Baby, you got nothin’)
When friends fall out
And it’s so nice to be home again
So nice to be home again
Where I belong.

I really don’t know why I bothered with all the lyrics, they seem rather mundane today.  I couldn’t decide what to take out I guess.  As you can see it is not edifying like a Micheal W Smith song, or worshipful like a Chris Tomlin song.  It’s just a sad song that everyone resonates with at some time or another.

I’d like to share the lyrics of a new song, but it hasn’t been written yet.  Maybe I’ll write it.  For the last couple of days we have felt the power of When Friends Fall In! We have a couple of families here in the area who have blessed us beyond measure, and we will love them forever.  I don’t want to diminish the impact of  these two families at all.  But as Diane has been experiencing some major health concerns, we have had three great friends from our past step out and step up in a way that has blessed us to tears.

What have they done, you ask, to have such an impact?  They have prayed for us.  They have gotten on their knees, interrupted their schedules, moved us to the center of their consciousness and prayed.

If we get through this current crisis of faith and health – when we get through this current crisis- we will have experienced intercession on our behalf like never before, and it will make us better believers, and it has already began making us better intercessors.

I have asked God repeatedly through the past eleven months what he wants me to learn.  I think I got it!  There is something I can and will continue to do, in sickness or health, for richer or poorer.  (Yes I borrowed those lines, can you think of any better ones?)  I will be an intercessor.  I know the power when friends fall in.  I know what I am to do for the rest of my life.  If you ask, know that I will pray fervently, because I know what it is like to be fervently prayed for.

Friends close by pray for me every day, and I am so grateful.  can’t possible mention them all, but I know who most are.  Friends far away pray for me with hearts bent toward Heaven.  And their prayers lift us through the (explicative deleted) of today.

One of the key verses we had the priveledge of helping kids learn was James 5:16 (especially the last two sentences.

“So admit to one another that you have sinned. Pray for one another so that you might be healed. The prayer of a godly person is powerful. It makes things happen.”  James 5:16 (New International Reader’s Version)  We are living this verse until it happens.

I also really like Daniel 9:18.

Our God, please listen to us. The city that belongs to you has been destroyed. Open your eyes and see it. We aren’t asking you to answer our prayers because we are godly. Instead, we’re asking you to do it because you love us so much.

Thank you dear friends for falling in for us.  We will endeavor to to the same for you.

Leave a Reply

