Red Plates

May 25, 2010

We have some red plates.  Really cool plates.  We use them almost every day.  They are dishwasher safe, microwave safe, fine vitrified china plates.  I can tell you how to get your own if you want, some other time.

One thing with these plates.  I think it is true of anything strong and beautiful.  If you stack them on top of each other, the constant friction of one strong beautiful thing against another will eventually cause wear.  Funny, one red plate rubbing against another red plate.  You’d think one would leave a red (and therefor unnoticeable) red scratch on the other.  But they don’t, they leave white scratches. Not cool.  So to prevent this we place a napkin or paper towel as a cushion between the plates.  Simple, cheap effective.  And everything still looks beautiful after years of daily use.

So I have decided to be a cushion.  Someone who gets in between two hard things that may scratch.  It seems that, whether I am working or not, I can still offer words of encouragement, Scripture or prayer when someone is up against a hard thing.  If we look at Paul’s letters, they all, even the ones that get a bit harsh, they all begin with a prayer of thanks, of blessings, or encouragement, often all three.  So I am trying to do the same for my friends.  I have a bunch of these napkin cushions in my life, maybe a dozen.  But just today Tracy, Jim and Ellen spoke love and encouragement into my life.  Someone does almost every day!  So I too, must do the same. It takes just a little thought, even less time, to let someone know that you are standing in the gap for them.

Sometimes in our struggles we forget our blessings, we forget the treasures God has for us, so like Paul says to the Colssians  “I want you to know how much I am struggling for you and for those at Laodicea, and for all who have not met me personally. My purpose is that they may be encouraged in heart and united in love, so that they may have the full riches of complete understanding, in order that they may know the mystery of God, namely, Christ, in whom are hidden all the treasures of wisdom and knowledge.  (Colossians 2:1-3)

So, my strong beautiful friends, there are now two things.  1)  Thank you dear friends for standing in the gap for me.  2)  I will stand for you when you need it.  Sometimes the Holy Spirit will tell me, but don’t be afraid to e-mail, Facebook or call me.  I will pray for you.

Therefore encourage one another and build each other up, just as in fact you are doing. (I Thessalonians 5:11, NIV)

Leave a Reply

