Life is more stinky than that

May 19, 2010

We have a print on the wall in our house.  It is a young lady holding a lamb, while the ewe looks lovingly on.   It’s as sappy as it sounds.  The colors are rich, there is a beautiful countryside cottage in the background, and flowers.   You know cute stuff.   

What is not present in what I have seen and smelled in every single sheep I have ever seen.  No poop.  All sheep with uncut wool have sheep poop hanging from their fur.  And sheep stink because of that.  Really stink!  And the lamp no doubt smells of poop and sour milk, maybe even sheep pee too.  If you stand too close to the picture you can probably even smell them.  I think we should plug in a “plug-in” under that picture.  The picture is too sanitized.  Life is more stinky than that.

Now, aren’t we all feeling better?

I think that maybe  God chooses to look at us in a fashion similar to the artist.  He knows all the bad stuff.  He could see it, smell it, even taste it he chose.  But instead he chooses not to.  He chooses, through the redemptive work of his son, to cover up the poop, gloss over the mess, mask the smell, because he loves us, and because he can.

If the print on my wall depicted the sheep they way they really are, I would not hang it in my house.  God not only lets us hang around, he fixes us up.

Psalm 51:10 Create in me a pure heart, O God, and renew a steadfast spirit within me.

2 Corinthians 4:16 Therefore we do not lose heart. Though outwardly we are wasting away, yet inwardly we are being renewed day by day.

So on the outside I may look and smell like a sheep, but inwardly, and eventually outwardly, I am being remade into a masterpiece.

Leave a Reply

