Springtime

May 17, 2010

The sky is quite gray.  A nice shade of gray, but it will probably rain before dark.  (PS, it’s dark and the rain is not here yet.)  That OK, I have nowhere I need to go.  The Robins are singing like their lives depend on it, and in a way they do.  They’re singing their marriage song.  They have been nest building for days, it’s a treat watching them fill their mouths so full of twigs, grass and, just stuff; its a wonder they can see where they are going.  The woods were full of birdsong today, yesterday too, for that matter.  I love walking in the woods in springtime.  New growth everywhere, birds everywhere, plants you’d never see any other time of year.  Jack is in his Pulpit and Trillium scatter the forest floor with color. Occasionally a deer or raccoon crosses our path.  We looked under a dozen stone bridges and did not see one troll.  Minor disappointment.  There are more shades of green than I can count, and I always find something that I cannot identify.  I love listening to the woodpeckers bang their heads against the trees.  It mimics my activity sometimes.  Diane usually takes pictures two hundred at a time.  Why do I need 350 gig of RAM?  Diane takes pictures two hundred at a time.  But because she does I always have wonderful pictures for my posts.

When I was younger I found it hard to understand how anyone, having been just once in the woods, could be an atheist. For since the creation of the world God’s invisible qualities—his eternal power and divine nature—have been clearly seen, being understood from what has been made, so that men are without excuse.”  (Romans 1:20)

What’s equally puzzling to me is why anyone would want nothing to do with the loving, creative, One who made all this stuff.  Knowing that God made creation the way he did, for his glory and our pleasure astounds me.  That he wants a relationship with me is baffling.

One Response to “Springtime”

  1. Sue said

    For a clue into the mind of an athiest, a good read is “There is A God- How the world’s most notorious atheist changed his mind.” by Antony Flew. In this book, Antony Flew explains the four lines of evidence that convinced him.

    I am amazed that a major thinker like Flew would have the courage and humility to (publicly) acknowledge that he was wrong. I don’t know if Antony is a true believer but he’s no longer an athiest, based on solid evidence. Will wonders never cease! How about that?! : )

Leave a Reply

