O Holy Day

May 10, 2010

I was listening to an internet radio station playing “classic” Christian music yesterday morning.  You know the Christian music that was popular before you were born. Keith Green, The 2nd Chapter of Acts, Daniel Amos, Degarmo and Key, all my favorites from the 70’s and 80’s.  Jesus Music.  For some reason a Christmas song was thrown into the mix.   So on a fine spring morning in May with the temperature a balmy 34 degrees (that’s not a typo) I’m listening to a reminder of why I get up and go to church.  I”m reminded of what Christianity is all about.  A reminder of why I am a follower of Jesus.

I must work harder to put these little reminders into my life throughout the day, so it doesn’t take O Holy Night to put me in the mood for church.

I’m not talking about putting a nativity set in every room like we have in December, or having “Christian” music on all the time.  Somehow I (We?) need to fill our lives with small recollections  of what Christ has done for us, personally.  I need to be able, on a moments notice- no- without any notice whatsoever, I need to be prepared to give the reason for the hope I have.  Not with Thomas Kincaid prints on every wall and TCT on the tube.  But with my life.  I need to have a constant Christmas carol kind of attitude.  I want to  a make my life a prayer.  I know I’ve said that before, very recently, I guess that is what the Spirit is saying to me right now.  I need to express my thankfulness, my trust, my  very dependence on the leading of God in every moment of my live.  Even in times, like now, where not much seems to be happening.

I know that even now, especially now perhaps, God is working in me (and you) “to will and to act according to his good purpose.”  (Philippians 2:13)  So I need to live like I really believe that.

I do believe that.

One Response to “O Holy Day”

  1. Sue said

    Yesterday, a young woman described to me the way she was called to be the Director of a new School in Honduras. She’s leaving in 8 weeks. Her peaceful calmness made an impression on me.
    She said that she spent a long times in prayer and that as a result she found that she learned to listen, and that’s when she heard the call. She is so trusting. I am a long way from her mature attitude. But, what an inspiration she was to me to change my ways. I think the waiting is the hardest part.

Leave a Reply

