the bumble bee

May 3, 2010

I was watching a bumble bee yeaterday.  It was as big as the end of my thumb, and was gathering and pollinating amongst some small wild violets.  The stems were about 4 inches long, and every time the bumble bee landed on a violet, the flower would bend all the way to the ground, leaving the bombus hanging upside down with his fuzzy backside draging on the ground.  When he released the little purple plant, the violet would spring skyward and bumbling bee would right himself and move on to the next blossom.

I’m sure this bee does not have a rational mind like humas do.  I’m pretty sure that he (she?) functions on a very rudimentary system of seek and find, with very simple instructions that are hardwired by the Creator, and that I could not possibly understand.  But as a casual observers I see resilience, peserverence and determination.  I suppose that I could argue that the bee was doing what bees do to survive.  There is no such thing as a lazy bumble bee, at least not after a few hours.

But aren’t there things I could learn from watching this yellow and black ball of energy and pollen?  Are not resilience, perserverence and determination three character traits we humans could use a bit more of?  I could at least.  Granted the bombus exibits these traits as a survival mechanism.  Well, yea, so could I.   We would all survice better and longer with these fruits of the Spirit.  But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience,kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control. Against such things there is no law.  (Galatians 5:22-23, NIV)  Love, joy and peace give us resisience, patience, kindness, goodness and faithfulness give us perserverence, and faithfulness, gentleness and self control give us determination.

  The bumble bee gets these traits as a gift from the Creator.  OK, so could I.  Right?  Am I right?  (Sorry, no patience or self control there.)  

As I observe and try to learn, as opposed to simply observing, every good quality that I see exibited in nature as an instinct, I can personally recieve from God as a gift.  So I think I will walk differently from now on.

One Response to “the bumble bee”

  1. Sue said

    I’m encouraged by this entry! Bumblebees crack me up. I’ve read that their anatomy should make them physically impossible for flight, but with God, all things are possible, even the fruit of the Spirit in us!
    So, off into the wild blue yonder! Awesome photos! Thanks for putting them in cyberspace.

Leave a Reply

