A gentle reminder

April 25, 2010

Maybe it’s my current situation, but this verse isn’t one I’ve struggled with too much.  I think getting along is a good idea.  It’s not too hard to live in harmony.  I sometimes have even been accused of trying to hard to get along.  Not recently.  But I am living in harmony with the people who are in my life right now, blessedly.

It may have something to do with only letting the right people into your life.  Hmmm.

Live in harmony with one another. Do not be proud, but be willing to associate with people of low position. Do not be conceited. (Romans 12:16)

So the first sentence of this verse connects with me, on some level at least. The next two?  I understand, but I have little to be conceited about.  I have spent more time struggling with low self esteem than I have with high self esteem.  Most (not all) of my successes I have properly attributed to the Grace of God and the Gifts he gives.  But I still have to stop and think, during interviews, am I overselling myself?  Am I proud of my humility?

I guess this verse is a gentle reminder to even those of us who take pride in their humility (Are conceited about it?) to remember by whose Grace and Mercy we live and breath and have our being.  Our humility, lack of pride and conceit, our willingness to “associate with people of low position” comes from understanding not just ourselves, but how and why and in what way we have gotten where we are.  It is not works that saved me, it is not works that has gifted me, so I need to be thankful, not proud.

I am.

Leave a Reply

